Sunday, December 2, 2007

Mikel Obi, Chimamanda, TY Bello, Don Jazzy, Others, Make The Future.. Awards Longlist for 2008!

After four weeks of grueling research and investigation, following the close of nominations in November, the Central Working Committee for The Future.. Awards is glad to release the definitive list of the brightest and best young people Nigeria produced in 2007!

With the excitement that has built up in the past few weeks – this is a list that young Nigerians from all around the world have been waiting for! Understandably so, since the list came out a bit later than usual this year. Adebola Williams, Operations Director for the awards explains, “This year the nominations we received more than tripled – it was truly massive! It’s no doubt due to the extensive national media campaign and tours – and we are most grateful to our media partners. And not just any nominations, we got a diverse and impressive pull. It was arduous wading through them, but what can we say really? We like to think it’s what you get when you do an awards like this that people have come to believe as credible and trustworthy.”

As usual, from the thousands of nominations (47, 234 this year) 120 nominees (8 per category) have been selected for the race towards the ultimate prize. In all the 15 keenly-contested-for categories, there are brilliant, high flying young achievers all between the ages of 18 and 31. It is fine cocktail of the famous and the seemingly obscure, the skilled and the talented, professionals and artistes – a truly balanced representation of the next generation.

From TY Bello, who is on the long list for two awards, Artist of the Year and Young Person of the Year, investment guru Boye Olawole and others for Professional of the Year, through the likes of D’banj and Psuare for Musician of the Year, Tosin Dekalu, Chika Nwobi, Funke Bucknor and co for Entrepreneur of the Year. And with others like Mak Kusare of BBC’s Wetin Dey, Joke Jaiyesinmi of Hip TV, Abdulkareem Baba Aminu of Daily Trust, Ayeni Adekule of Thisday, divas like Genevieve Nnaji, Oge Okoye and Ini Edo battling it for Actor of the Year, and for the first time ever, a sports personality, Mikel Obi, emerging, for Young Person of the Year, this is one list you have to read through!

The 4-stage judging process begins immediately, with the Independent Audit Committee, headed by Dr. Reuben Abati and having such credible Nigerians as Ms. Sienne Alwell-Brown, Mr. Dapo Olorunyomi, amongst 30 others screening through this list to decide who will be crowned as icons of the future!

Further information can be gotten on


Professional of the Year
Ike Ochonogor – FedEx
Temitope Ogunfayo – Procter & Gamble
Adebayo Omole – Matrix Solicitors
Boye Olawoye - Investment Banking Group
Lola Talabi – Cadbury Nigeria
Bode Makanjuola – Caverton Group
Omowale David Ashiru - Accenture
Noble Igwe – Virgin Nigeria

Artist of the Year
Karo Akpokiere
Jide Alakija
TY Bello
Ogunnubi Babadeji
Chukwuma Ngene
Seyi Taylor
Adolphus Opara
Abraham Oghobase

Music Producer of the Year
Alex Yangs
Don Jazzy
ID Cabassa
Jeremiah Gyang
Wole Oni
Mr. Daz

Screen/Programme Producer of the Year
Mak Kusare – AveHill
Michael Oyeyiola - Soundcity
Lamide Opere – Nigezie
Seke Somolu – Wetin Dey
Effiong Eton - Silverbird
Soji Ogunnaike – Real Time
Joke Jaiyesinmi – Hip TV
Nasir Muazu – BBC

Musician of the Year
Olu Maintain
De Indispensables

Best Use of Technology
Adejuwon Saheed
Femi Odewunmi
Ayorinde Olalekan
Mubarak Mohammed Abdulahi
Icebox Studios
Olufemi Akande
Odufuye Bamidele
Seun Medunoye

Best Use of Advocacy
Emmanuel Etim
Toyosi Akerele
Temidayo Israel
Olatorera Majekodunmi
Adeola Akinremi
Oyebisi O. Babatunde
Amina Alli

Entrepreneur of the Year
Abiodun Ajibola - CGMIE Consulting
Tosin Dekalu – Lady Cobbler
Funke Awobokun – Cocktails In & Out
Funke Bucknor – Zaphaire Events
Gbenga Ashiru – Nebula Media
Bukola Adubi – Miccom Resorts
Chika Nwobi – Mtech
Mosunmola Umoru – Honeysuckles PTL

On-Air Personality of the Year
Adaure Achumba
Keke Adenuga
Nike Coker
Lamide Akintobi
Denrele Edun
Mike Magic
Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi
Ebuka Obi-Uchendu

Journalist of the Year
Samson Adeoye – The Guardian
Ayeni Adekunle – Thisday
Azuh Amatus – The Sun
Abdulkareem Baba-Aminu – Daily Trust
Adedeji Ademigbuji – National Standard
George Elijah Otumu – The Week
Nonye Iwuagwu – The Punch
Julie Odia - Simply Woman

Best Use of Goodwill
Generation 4 Change
Do Sumthing Positive
AIPA- Against Illiteracy Poverty and AIDS
Shade Ladipo
Omowunmi Agagu
Ngozi Ekeh

Entrepreneur of the Year (Beauty & Style)
Omoyemi Akerele
Toni Payne
Okunoren Twins
Muyiwa Osindero
Banke Meshida
Linda Ikeji
Lisa Folawiyo
Bunmi Oyeniyi

Actor of the Year
Genevieve Nnaji
Ini Edo
Funke Akindele
Ali Nuhu
Osita Iheme
Mike Ezuruonye
Oge Okoye
Nonso Diobi

Magazine of the Year

Young Person of the Year
Mikel Obi
TY Bello
Oluchi Orlandi
Chika Nwobi
Toni Payne
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Mubarak Muhammed Abdulai


Gamine said...

man, u is my inspiration ooh

hmm, im just trying to finish sch n get my engineering degree

then i can fully focus o whut i love best

keep d good works up, make em better

keep encouraging us

Head up!

dolly said...

Knock Knock, u there?

wienna said...

A few names on d list get k-leg, in my opinion sha. What in da world is Ashionye's name(ms. B wannabe) doing in d 'musician of d year' category? Agree, if there were to be a female in dat category, why not someone who's been active in d music scene like Sasha? And why weren't u nominated in d 'journalist of d year'?

Anonymous said...

just went thru your blog and its quite refreshing. now to the nominees for the Future 2008 (which i think is the best thing that has ever happened to Nigeria), i feel Don jazzy should win the producer of the year.
As for On-air personaltiy of the year, who in heaven are the other contenders compared to Derele?That boy is God's gift to the screen (after Funmi Iyanda) and he'd better get that award else i wont visit your blog again.
Tosin dekalu has really stepped up her game and so has TY bello. As for musician of the year, Psquare should get that award because they seem to have pushed dbanj out of the scene for a while now.
Bimpe Olateju

Anonymous said...

Aww thanks SO much. SO much. keep doing it man - and stay in touch!

how u dey. send me a mail girl!

I cant speak for Ashionye o - but u cant really say she hasnt been active. not this year at any rate. plus this is an achievement award not who;s most loved. lol. and about me - see me o my sister! how u dey. cheers

Thanks so much fro the kind words! how u dey? i know u right?